Delete Windows partition on Mac with BootCamp wizard

Delete-Bootcamp-Mac-0

The BootCamp utility on Mac as we already know is an advanced feature in OS X that allows us install a Windows partition and in this way run the system when we start our Mac holding down the ALT keyHowever, we may not always need to have Windows 'parked' on our computer, but the space that it can occupy on the disk we may need it for other tasks, therefore we must eliminate it.

There are users who to carry out this step use a backup prior to installation with Time Machine and in this way restore the Mac to a previous state, but this step is unnecessary since from the wizard itself we will be able to do it without having to resort to touching OS X. This does not mean that we always have a copy at hand since it is unlikely that it seems, something may go wrong and you need that copy then.

This step of removing Windows not only remove the system but all the information referring to applications or different files contained in it so it is also highly recommended save this information before proceeding to completely remove any trace of Windows.

Once everything has been verified, the process is quite simple and is achieved in just a few steps:

  1. Open the BootCamp wizard: To do this we will go to Applications> Utilities> Bootcamp Assistant or directly from Spotlight we will write «Bootcamp Assistant». Next we will mark the option that shows us to eliminate Windows 7 or a later version of Windows. Bootcamp-delete-partition-1
  2. Restore disk: When we have the option to delete the partition marked, it only remains to check that OS X shows us the correct information on how the disk partitions will be after the elimination of Windows. There is only click on Restore to start the process. Bootcamp-delete-partition-2

Basically what this does is delete the Windows partition and re-partition the system, something similar to what can be done from Disk Utility. The main difference from going that way is that going through Boot Camp Assistant also Boot Camp utilities are removed They help to dual-boot for what is considered a cleaner removal process.

If "Remove Windows 7 or later" is grayed out and the check box cannot be selected, probably something has happened to the partition table or they have not been installed the latest Boot Camp drivers . If that is the case we can then delete the unnecessary partition that remains from Applications> Utilities> Disk Utility.


The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

3 comments, leave yours

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*

*

  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.

  1.   Alejandro said

    Hi Miguel,
    I have a question, when partitioning the space and rejoining the two partitions that were separated in Windows and OSX and converting them into one ... does this affect in any way the files and data that were already in the OSX partition? That is, can I delete bootcamp without losing files from my MAC part?

    Thank you

  2.   Gustavo said

    Hello friend, I have a problem, I tried to install Windows 7 without success, and when the requests appeared, I formatted the boot Camp, it sent me an error and I gave it delete partition and then create it from Windows installation, I left and restored with achine time but the boot cam can no longer make a single partition from the boot it says cam sends me the message that an error has occurred when restoring and in disk utilities I see that partition, on the internal disk only the Mac appears but with less GB How can I recover those GB I have OS X 10.11.3 the captain thank you very much

  3.   Paul Henao said

    Hola!
    I have completed the process of uninstalling the partition that I had in Windows, but I have two problems:
    1. It tells me that the total disk capacity is 800GB and it should be 1TB, after restore.
    2. When starting the MacBook I have to keep ALT to enter the disks and then the Mac ...
    How can I solve these two problems?

    Thank you very much.